Our History

Our HistoryThe Power of Community

The Stillwater Area Foundation was formally established in 2010 by founding members Peter Clements, Dwight Cummins, Shannon Hooley Enright, Curt Geissler and Tom Weidner. They were passionate about keeping philanthropy local and enhancing our communities. Additional original board members included Rebecca Billingsley, Dr. Kevin Bjork, Chuck Fullmer, Alex Neff, Joni Polehna, and Maria Reamer.

The mission of the foundation is to grow an endowed fund for the greater Stillwater area that provides resources to enhance the quality of life and encourages philanthropic activities. The foundation serves a territory roughly contiguous with the boundaries of Stillwater Area Public Schools, stretching from Bayport to Marine, including the communities in between.

In 2018 the name of the foundation was changed to Stillwater Area Community Foundation to better reflect the geographic area served. Since its inception, many generous individuals and corporate partners have given to the endowed fund, strengthening the foundation’s ability to support St. Croix Valley communities in perpetuity. Since 2010, the foundation has awarded over $149,000 in grants to a wide variety of causes and programs.

Stillwater Area Community Foundation is one of ten community Affiliated Funds of the St. Croix Valley Foundation, which manages our investments and oversees our operations. We are run by a volunteer Board of Directors.

Make a difference right in your hometown.


Click here to read our Bylaws

Comments are closed.